Raise Our Voices and Be Heard

It just really sucks hurting so bad. I’m not in a flare (at least I hope not) but I am recovering from one of my worst ones ever. Last night when I went to bed, I could barely keep my eyes open, and I slept soundly. Perhaps the insomnia has left me alone for a while.

I’ve joined several Facebook groups dealing with chronic pain and fibromyalgia. I’m not the only one hurting, I can assure you that. I’m not the only one with a horror story, oh no, mine is just a blip of so many, that I think the Earth’s surface could be covered. I’ve never read so many injustices, so many cruel statements, just so many of us hurting, and getting either no relief, or barely any. And the stories of what we go through, the ignorant looks, the suspicious glances, the embarrassment, it’s just downright sad.

Chronic pain, like mental illness, is an invisible disease, and both are not adequately treated, or even acknowledged. I read about one person’s doctor who said they would never prescribe pain pills because “fibromyalgia is all in your head.” Or another story about how a pharmacist not only refused to fill a prescription, but had called around to other pharmacists, telling them to deny filling this certain person’s script. It turns out the doctor had written something incorrect, but they wouldn’t even call. But they spoke about it – in front of a line of customers – and very loudly apparently. What the heck?

Or what about the person’s son who steals her pain medicine in the middle of the night. THESE are the folks that have put us in these positions, but WE are the folks who need to be treated with dignity, and the same privacy we expect – we deserve – from our health care providers. “Well, this is the only way we can prevent …” bullcrap! The DEA hasn’t done anything but make these pain pills even more attractive by making them so taboo. Even Tramadol, a non-opiod, is now going to become the latest trend on the street, all because it’s a scheduled narcotic (even though it’s not a narcotic, explain that, just like Lyrica) … So the folks on the street are going to keep on with the street deals, while us suffering in pain get treated like drug addicts. Some are even just downright refused to be treated anymore. One person said her doctor basically said, “I’m not going to treat you because of the DEA. Not risking my life.” Closed the door.

BAM!

It’s a travesty that we who already endure pain like you wouldn’t believe – because YOU can’t see it, YOU aren’t feeling it, but WE DO – it’s such a travesty that we are treated like druggies, forced to pee in a cup, all the time, just to get our medicine. But it’s not considered “medicine” at some drug stores – it’s a DRUG – and you’re a DRUGGIE – and you raise red flags – so we’ll just not fill your prescription here. WOW. At least I have never had my pharmacists or technicians do anything other than be professional and courteous, but there are those horror stories. Imagine you having to go pee in a cup every 2-4 weeks just to make sure you’re not doing anything you shouldn’t be doing. Is that right? Is that legal? I think NOT!

WE are being denied the treatment we deserve, and as a whole, we need to RAISE OUR VOICES AND BE HEARD.

If you want to join my fight, email me at chronicpainmanifesto@yahoo.com. Email me your story and I will collect our voices and our stories. Let’s stand up and fight!

If you want things to change, you have to BE the change.

3 thoughts on “Raise Our Voices and Be Heard

  1. The whole ‘non-narcotic’ thing is BS. Technically tramadol hits some opiate-related receptors. It just hits a few other things too. Oh, the way the pharmaceutical industry lies. Did you know that antidepressants are non-habit-forming, too? HA HA HA HA — *weeps silently*

    Like

  2. Incidentally, to be perfectly frank, I don’t even think recreational drug users deserve to be treated the way they are in our culture. Somehow, ancient cultures managed to use opium, cannabis, coca, and all sorts of other intoxicating substances in all kinds of ways in their lives, from medicinally to spiritually to creatively to socially, including ways that we in modern times would call ‘recreational’. Why weren’t they destroyed by waves of drug abuse and its supposed inevitable horrible consequences?

    Like

    • I agree with you, too. That’s why I’m attempting to counter all of these fallacies that people who use this PLANT are not full of “reefer madness!” We aren’t the stoners sitting on our couches wasting our lives!

      Like

Leave a Reply

